Liebster Blogger Award…exciting!

This little blog is still very new, both to me and you, but I’m loving sharing my part of the universe with y’all. The lovely Vodka and Velvet (a blog title after my own heart) has nominated me for the Liebster Award, which is pretty awesome! Here’s the rules:

  1. Acknowledge the blogger that nominated you
  2. Answer the questions they set
  3. Nominate 10 bloggers with under 200 followers
  4. Inform the bloggers you have nominated them
  5. Post 10 questions for them to answer

Wanna hear my answers? Here goes:

1. When and why did you start blogging?

I started blogging in December in 2014. I’ve often discussed with my friends that we should start a blog as each of us has a ‘thing’, be it millinery, floristry or sewing. We’ve all come up with some pretty cool stuff and thought that a wider audience than our town could be beneficial for each of us in terms of feedback, support and suggestions. At the end of 2014 I wasn’t working a whole lot, so whilst I had time on my hands I decided to just jump in and start the blog! Of course ‘time on my hands’ never lasts but I’m so glad to have started this journal and have ‘met’ some cool people.

2. What is your go-to outfit?

Motherhood makes this a fairly mundane answer, but it’s usually a silk tee or tank (lots of navy!) and shorts or jeans with slides or espadrilles.

3. How would you describe your style?

All or nothing. I’m either in mum-appropriate uniform described above, or covered in sequins! I think I’m quite classic in that I enjoy a quality fabric, well fitted jeans, angular or geometric design lines and sports luxe simplicity. My ‘special’ items are anything from full length sequins to a voluminous midi skirt. I have a bit of fashion ADHD.

4. Who is your style icon?

Miroslava Duma, freelance fashion writer and former Harper’s Bazaar editor (Russia). A street-style blogger’s dream with the perfect mix of texture, print and colour. Her satorial choices have lead to a huge following, and I’m happy to say I’m one of them! She’s awesome.

5. Favourite place to holiday?

Melbourne. Not particularly exciting as I already live in Australia, but Melbs is a far-cry from this mining town! I’m also usually there for an exciting event which always makes it a bit more thrilling. And shopping because..SHOPPING.

6. Stripes or plaid?

Stripes. Navy and white stripes are a twice-weekly occurrence around here.

7. Summer or winter?

Tough! I love summer weather but I love winter fashion….I’ll have to say summer

8. One outfit you regret?

Oh god…cheap polyester black handkerchief hem dress with pink rhinestones shoes a la Paris Hilton. Loved myself sick that night too…so embarrassing!

9. One wardrobe item you can’t live without?

Is it lame to say my wedding ring? Probably. My dark rinse, high-rise, skinny leg Lee jeans get the highest rotation.

10. Number one all-time favourite blogger?

Blair Eadie at Atlantic-Pacific. I want every.single.outfit. she’s ever worn. Swoon!

I suddenly feel a little closer to you all!

The ten blogs that I am nominating are:

1. Crafty Cultures

2. Print or Solid

3. Bedlam + Bird

4. Sew Ellie’s Imaginary Friend

5. Textile and Stitch

6. Fabulous Failures

7. The Ruffled Pine

8. As Told By Flo

9. Kristy Louise

10. Harmony’s Rainbow

I hope you guys haven’t been nominated before! Here’s your questions (not particularly innovative or hard-hitting, but fun):

1. How did you come up with your blog name?

2. Dirty Dancing or The Bodyguard? (a long-running best-movie-ever feud between my bestie and I)

3. Are you a plan-ahead blogger, or a ‘fit it in when I can’ blogger?

4. The most inspiring blog that you follow?

5. Your guilty pleasure?

6. Your long term goals for your blog?

7. Are you on instagram? Tell us the instagram user/account that you love the most (I’m @ohlittledoe if you’re on insta)

8. Your proudest memory?

9. When you’re not blogging, what are you doing?

10. What do you love most about blogging?

I hope the questions aren’t too trying! I think that most of my nominees are new to the blogging world like myself, so I hope we can all ‘meet’ some new friends and live happily ever after in bloggy heaven 😉

Enjoy!

Jenelle xx

Leave a comment